North of Yunnan - Reisverslag uit Lijiang, China van karentje - WaarBenJij.nu North of Yunnan - Reisverslag uit Lijiang, China van karentje - WaarBenJij.nu

North of Yunnan

Door: Karen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

16 December 2011 | China, Lijiang

Lugu Lake was really beautiful, we planned to hike to a traditional hotspring. The people in the hostel told us it was a 2.5h hike, which is really ok. But after an hour hiking we asked the location, and we weren't even on the 1/6th part!!!
So we decided to hitchhike when we could and hike the rest of it. Hitchhiking is very common in this area, and fun to be picked up by the local people in their traditional clothings. The scenery was just amazing, the people as well!
I overwon my shyness and went to the hotspring together with all these traditional Yunnan women, was quite an experience! Not very hygienic though, since they were even spitting in the water! And there were certain things drifting in the water, of which I do not want to know what they were...

The day after I went back to Lijiang, Eva and Yuval stayed for 1 or more days. In Lijiang I bought some gloves and a hat, I was ready to go to Shangri La! But not after some photo taking in Lijiang in the morning. First Lijiang kinda shocked me coz of all the tourists, I had a Disneyland feeling. But after some time I discovered the places where to go to avoid the groups of tourist.
I took the bus to Shangri La, arrived here around 6PM, and yes it was cold! But beautiful with all the mountains around me.
I met some nice people in the hostel, most of them Chinese. Quite challenging to have a conversation with, but they were all very eager to practise their English and teach me some Chinese, though it still hard for me to learn it!
The next day Yuen Yuen and me went to rent some bikes and explore the surroundings. His English is as good as my Chinese, so we were forced to learn some of eachother's language! And thank God for Google translate and smartphones haha!
We had a good day, saw some beautiful deserted places, and in the evening I was tired but satisfied.
Yuen Yuen has cycled recently from China to Tibet, so this little trip (40-50km in a mountain area) was nothing for him!

Today I'm being kinda lazy, just chilling. In the morning I went to take some pictures, just exploring this town. Tomorrow I will take an early bus to Dali, supposed to be beautiful as well, and warmer than here haha!

I wanted to upload some pics, but unfortunately some websites are blocked in China, like facebook, youtube, dropbox and apparently also karenlow.mijnalbums.nl
I'll try to upload some when I get to Vietnam.

Ciao!

  • 16 December 2011 - 09:49

    Janne:

    Sounds very nice chica, maar ben je ook echt ín die hot spring geweest?!
    xx

  • 16 December 2011 - 10:08

    Josien:

    Klinkt super gaaf... ik ben wel benieuwd naar die foto's!!! Wij gaan over een dagje ook lekker op vakantie... heerlijk! zin in!!! xxxx

  • 16 December 2011 - 13:19

    Petra:

    Toch maar handschoenen en een muts, zeer verstandig! haha
    Ook erg leuk om met handen en voeten elkaar te moeten begrijpen...nu ben je natuurlijk helemaal overstag om zelf een smartphone te gaan kopen ;-)!
    Ben zeer benieuwd naar de amazing pictures :-)!!!
    kus

  • 17 December 2011 - 11:44

    Carmen :

    Heej siz. Wat een verhalen weer, denk dat ik me wel al een beetje ga voorbereiden door wat van de taal hier alvast op te pikken.. Ik heb geen smartphone, dus dat ben ik straks wel genoodzaakt om in china manderijns te praten. Jij in ieder geval veel plezier en hou je taai tussen al die spugende mensen...
    X

  • 19 December 2011 - 10:34

    Willemijn:

    Ha Karen!! Wat maak je toch weer mooie dingen mee! Genieten hoor, ook voor de lezer ;-)!! Heel veel plezier nog!! xx Willem

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: China, Lijiang

Mijn eerste reis

Hier schrijf ik later misschien iets over mijzelf.

Recente Reisverslagen:

23 Februari 2012

Cambodia and Laos

25 Januari 2012

Vietnam

25 December 2011

Merry Xmas!

16 December 2011

North of Yunnan

11 December 2011

Hong Kong and a bit of China
Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 233
Totaal aantal bezoekers 46689

Voorgaande reizen:

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: