Merry Xmas! - Reisverslag uit Dali, China van karentje - WaarBenJij.nu Merry Xmas! - Reisverslag uit Dali, China van karentje - WaarBenJij.nu

Merry Xmas!

Door: Karen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

25 December 2011 | China, Dali

Hey everybody, Merry Xmas!

I got to Dali last Saturday, intended to stay till Tuesday, but I'm still here! This is such a great town, relaxing atmosphere, very nice friendly people, just a good place to chill! The first evening I met up with a couchsurfer from Dali: Luxi, and her friends for some Muslim hotpot which was amazing. After that we went to this popular bar Bad Monkey and they invited me for their Xmas party which was on Xmas Eve. So yeah, the next day I decided to stay and chill in this place for a while.
The last week I just wandered through town, tasting all the streetfood.
The food in Dali is good and cheap, I've tried so many different things, which were all good and so incredibly cheap!

Well, I wasn't only eating the last week haha, did some other things as well since there is a lot to do and see in the Dali surroundings.
I met up with Sunny, a girl from Beijing, went to a big local market in another town closeby, having some tea in a traditional Chinese way. The next day we cycled along the lake and ended up for some beers.
I also met this other guy from the hostel: Aedan, from Australia. We went to do a 2 days trekking in the mountain Zhonghe. Really good views over Dali, nice walking trails and he's already a celebrity here, Chinese people love to be in a picture with this guy haha.

And wow, yesterday! Xmas eve is CRAZY and crowded here in Dali! I saw them selling foamsprays, which surprised me a bit, coz I was thinking: why the hell would you buy that. Well, I got the answer yesterday! They use it as a sort of fake snow, and they wanted to make sure that no one got missed out with the spraying!
That was a challenging trip to Luxi's place for the Xmas party. It was a good party, there was even some gluhwein since Luxi's boyfriend is from Germany. So good wine, beers, lot's of snacks and special cookies that got everyone spacing haha.

Today on Xmas day we went to a Buddhist place to have a vegetarian buffetlunch while the monks were chanting next to us. Was a special Xmas experience haha.

Tomorrow I will finally leave this town for Vietnam, first a bus to Kunming, then a sleeperbus to Vietnam!

I'm trying to upload photos to karenlow.mijnalbum.nl
Hope it'll work out!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: China, Dali

Mijn eerste reis

Hier schrijf ik later misschien iets over mijzelf.

Recente Reisverslagen:

23 Februari 2012

Cambodia and Laos

25 Januari 2012

Vietnam

25 December 2011

Merry Xmas!

16 December 2011

North of Yunnan

11 December 2011

Hong Kong and a bit of China
Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 232
Totaal aantal bezoekers 46688

Voorgaande reizen:

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: